Pommerscher Verein Freistadt
The Pomeranian Society of Freistadt
The Pomeranian Society of Freistadt
Filter by Category:  
Timeframe:

Search:   For:    Search  Clear Search
Listings Per Page: 

Records: 1 to 2 of 2


Saturday, September 10
Using Land Records and other Documents for Genealogy  (PVF Meetings)
1:00 pm
Lindenwood Community Center and Zoom

Chris DeWuske, the founder and editor of the “My Pomerania” website (mypomerania.com), will present using land records as secondary sources for genealogy and vital information. He will cover different strategies for approaching the various documents, which can be used to add full branches to family trees and sometimes understand more about a family's living circumstances. He will discuss Grundbücher, mortgages, Grundakten, Urkunden Sammlungen, and others.

 

The “My Pomerania” website began as a small side project in October 2015 and grew tremendously in 2019 after Chris brought back over 300 records from the Polish archives and placed them online for free.




Saturday, October 15
Pomeranian Special Interest Group Webinar  (Other Events)

2:00 PM Eastern, 11:00 AM Pacific (US and Canada), 8:00 PM CET

“A Day in the Life of Your German Ancestor”

presented by Roger Minert (Language: English)

The focus is on the “Early Modern Era” that runs from 1500 (Martin Luther) to 1800 (Napoleon). The presentation will encompass all German-language regions/states of the time, including Pomerania. 

Details and registration information will be sent in the Pomeranian Special Interest Group (PSIG) News, shared with our partner organizations, and posted to our website www.pomeranianews.org

This topic was one of the most-requested topics in our 2022 survey of our subscribers/members. You won't want to miss it! Put it on your calendar.